Is Technology Making Us Dumb?

I’m a technology girl! An early adopter! I don’t buy technology for technology-sake but when I see something that I know I’ll use, I’ll go for it!

I think that’s probably why my specialization in instructional design is for online learning—because I love the technology! I love the challenge! The pace! I even love the nay-sayers: “You can’t teach that online!”

But where my love for technology stops is when it fails and the human just shuts down. Not a fan of that!

The other week, I was notified that I had shopped at a vendor who had been hacked while using my debit card. While my account had no illegal activity on it, as a precaution they wanted to cancel the existing card and issue a new one. Okay, better safe than sorry, but that also meant being without my debit card for five to seven business days including a holiday.

You know what means, don’t ya? That means c-a-s-h! That means having to write a c-h-e-c-k.

So, I went to the bank to cash a check for the weekend. But because my debit card had been discontinued, I couldn’t swipe it at the counter for the teller to access my account.

I could see the panic in her eyes. She had no idea what to do! She couldn’t tell if I was a customer (even though the bank’s name was on the check). She didn’t know how to access my account on her computer without my swipe. She finally asked for my driver’s license, and after a while, I got my money.

After that, I started thinking about their learning and development programs. I know companies spend lots of money on teaching systems, etc., but do they teach process? Are employees learning how to problem solve and to think critically about a situation so they can adapt to any situation?

OR…are they teaching the tool all-the-while assuming they’re teaching all of the above?

As always, I’m interested in your opinions!

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Is Technology Making Us Dumb?
  1. vanessaksmith says:

    I have been to several stores and the cashier just doesn’t know how to count back change, especially if they tender it wrong on the register. One day I had a bill of 28.55 and I gave her $100. She entered it completely wrong and couldn’t figure out how much change to give me. She had to call the supervisor and the supervisor didn’t even know what to do so she completely redid my order. We are too relient on technology. I don’t think I could go a day with out my laptop or smart phone!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

